NTA Part 3: Final

11 July, 2006 at 0:24 (Hong Kong)

Ok this series of posts about my NTA could drag on for a while, so I’ll keep this post brief and wrap things up.
After lunch, I found the 54K bus to take me to the wall villages…oh, what are the wall villages you say? Well, these are villages built by the locals up to 300 hundred years ago, for protection against bandits and other bad sorts. On the inside the walls are anywhere from half a metre to 2 metres tall, whilst on the other side they can be up to 4 metres tall. They also have port holes where you could fire arrows or projects of choice through, and some even have guard towers on each corner.

Having played follow the tourist, and alighted the 54K at the same stop as an elderly western looking couple and discovered that they actually lived inside a wall village. The husband had been living in asia for the past 50 or so years, and spoke about 6 languages. So, I had a drink at their house and then they showed me the way to a bus which took me to some Buddhist temple.

The temple was ok, but like other tourist places in China, it feels tacky because there are so many signs and protective covers everywhere that it loses part of the attraction in the first place. Oh well, it was still good, and being surrounded by mountains, was very scenic. I was only at this temple for about 30 minutes walking around the grounds, after which I decided to walk back the way I’d come (the bus only took about 5 or so minutes to get to the temple).

So, where am I…yeh, so, having walked back to the spot where I originally boarded the bus, I saw three tourist looking people, two of whom were Chinese. They looked a bit lost and as I walked near, they asked me if I knew where the wall villages were. As I had not found them myself, I told them so and knew only that there were wall villages all around us. Sorry, I should explain, there are some wall villages which are better preserved than others. The one the elderly couple lived in was build up more than others for example.

So, as I group, the four of us set out to find the well preserved wall towns. Fortuitiously, we saw a map nearby which outlined the Lung Yeuk Tau heritage tour trail which I had originally been seeking.  We visited two wall villages which were pretty nice, and well preserved, with the entire wall still intact and in good condition.  Quite a feat considering they were over 200 years old.  I should let everyone know however that, although well preserved, they are not unoccupied, people still live inside them, usually in more modern dwellings.

What else?  Well, we visited the two wall towns, then made our way back to the train station, which goes back to Kowloon.  However, we were a bit hungry by now, so decided to go out for dinner instead of heading back to town.  So, three of us (one had to leave), went out for dinner nearby at a local restaurant.  The two of them that I went out with were students at a University in Hong Kong, and were very nice, having been unofficial tour guides on the trip through the wall villages.

After dinner, they gave me a tour of their campus, which has its own train stop a few stops back towards town on the same line.  The University is called the Chinese University of Hong Kong and is huge! Check out the campus map for crikey sake:

After the tour we got back on the train and headed back towards Kowloon, although they got off a few stops before me.
Whoa, another post which went on for longer than I intended.  Hope it is somewhat coherent.

Till next time…

1 Comment

  1. Emma said,

    wha wha whee whee that university IS HUGE!!

Leave a Reply

